July Blooms

Hard to believe it’s July 1st already! The temperatures have been very warm lately and the colors in the garden are vivid. I took a short walk around the property today and this is what I found…

The milkweed is blooming and the bees and butterflies are flitting and flying everywhere. We have some naturalized areas of our property where milkweed grows, but I also grow it in my perennial beds. Milkweed is essential to the Monarch Butterfly because they lay their eggs on the undersides of the leaves.

I grow these common ‘ditch lilies’ along the fence and I found this one today with a double bloom.

This is the same lily, just a different angle showing the double bloom.

My herb garden from a distance. I don’t mind letting the herbs bloom–I have plenty to dry and the shades of purple blooms are so pretty!

Echinacea or ‘cone flower’ is a wonderful Ohio native that tolerates dry spells very well.  These are blooming prolifically this year.

Speaking of prolific blooms, here is a sea of Black-Eyed Susans another hardy Ohio native perennial.

I hope you are enjoying the summer and all of its color! 🙂

Leave a Reply

