Herb Harvest

My herb garden is doing quite well this year.  Yesterday, I harvested some basil, cilantro, oregano and thyme.

I bundled them and hung them up to dry on a vintage clothes drying rack I’ve been using for my herbs for quite a few years now–a great thrift store find!

This morning I went out and cut some more herbs for a nice herbal floral arrangement. It not only looks pretty, but smells wonderful!

This bouquet contains oregano with burgundy blooms, thyme with soft pink blooms, lavender and lamb’s ear with large spikes of purple flowers.

I also cut garlic scapes this morning. They are edible, but I prefer to use them in a fun arrangement and they make the kitchen smell great.

Cutting the scapes also provides a benefit to the still growing garlic bulbs by sending the plant’s energy into the bulb instead of the ‘flower’ or scape.  By mid-July the garlic bulbs will be ready to harvest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

