Bird Feeder Station

This week we put up a bird feeder station hubby gave me for my birthday.  It came with a post to ‘plant’ it in the ground, but we didn’t really want one more thing to mow around in the yard.

So, Hubby fashioned 2 clamps out of sheet metal so we could mount the feeder station to a fence post.  This way, it’s convenient for me to reach, it’s out of the way and I can see it from any window in the back of the house.

As the weather turns cooler, I’m going to hang up a couple of suet feeders on the other 2 hooks.

It didn’t take long for the finches to find it.  This male Goldfinch is filling up on black oil sunflower seeds.

The female Goldfinch, on the left, is enjoying the thistle seed in the finch feeder.

I also keep a feeder filled with black oil sunflower seeds in the garden bed at the front of the house.  I can see this one from my living room window.

And, of course, the garden keeps the birds fed.  I leave the plants in my garden beds until Spring so the birds have food for as long as the seeds last.

The sunflowers are a favorite of the finches.  Every time I walk out to the garden a flurry of finches scurry out of the  garden and then they quickly return as soon as I go back to the house. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~

In loving memory of my uncle, Jim Edwards. He enjoyed reading my blog and always encouraged me to ‘keep up the good work.’  He will be fondly remembered and dearly missed.

~~~~~~~~

2 thoughts on “Bird Feeder Station

Leave a Reply

