Gardening in full swing!

It is now May. It seems as if it would never arrive, but here it is in all its glory. We have had a very wet Spring, so getting garden chores done has been a challenge. We finally finished altering our large garden beds to make smaller ones.

Now everything is much more manageable and easy to reach and work around.

I managed to get all of the vegetable seeds planted, along with tomato plants, peppers and herb plants. I’m so excited to have one bed completely devoted to herbs. This year I’m growing chives, rosemary, basil, parsley, lavender, thyme, oregano, dill and cilantro.

It was such beautiful weather for planting and the birds were keeping me company with their song and frequent fly overs. Even the barn swallows did a few swoops over the garden looking for any bugs I may have stirred up.

We have a rain barrel in the corner of our garden space. This comes in very handy to water the tiny seedlings with water from the barrel and my watering can. No need for the hose just yet.

As I was finishing up, I spotted this little frog perched on the fence. He didn’t seem to mind me. Can you see him?

Here’s a close up…

Leave a Reply

