Fruit Loops!

I’ve finished up my Christmas crochet gifts and decided to work on something for myself. I bought this very pretty Merino wool at The Wool Gathering this fall and I’ve been saving it for something special.

This yarn comes from The Weaver’s Loft–it’s their “Yarns of Distinction”–Licorice Twist-Fiesta colorway, worsted weight, 100% Merino wool.

I love the vibrant colors and it’s so squishy soft. ๐Ÿ™‚

For the first project, I used the Kite Stitch Scarf pattern by Darlene Dale. It’s a free pattern found on the Caron Yarn website and it’s super-easy. As I was making it, I realized the yarn resembled “fruit loops” cereal, so that is what I named my finished project–the “Fruit Loops Scarf.”

This is a quick pattern and I’m really happy with the results. This yarn is lovely to work with.ย  It’s so soft and on these cold, snowy days it was fun to work with something so colorful.

I still had plenty of yarn left over, so I thought a pair of mittens would make a nice match to this scarf.ย  For the mittens, I used the pattern, Easy Crochet Mittens by April Draven. April does a wonderful job with her instructions and the photos really helped.ย  Again,ย  a very easy, fun pattern with wonderful results.

My mittens in progress.

Here are the finished “Fruit Loops Mittens.”ย  I made just a few adjustments to the cuffs to personalize them a bit.ย  I’m very happy with these.

And, the finished “Fruit Loops” set.

I had so much fun making this set, I just had to share.ย  These projects areย  perfect for this yarn–a nice Christmas gift to myself! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

8 thoughts on “Fruit Loops!

Leave a Reply

