Herb drying

I love growing herbs in my garden. They smell fantastic and they give such wonderful flavors to food. This year I’m growing basil, thyme, parsley, cilantro, rosemary, oregano, sage and chives. I usually cut them twice a year–once  in mid-summer to promote more growth and again in the fall before the first freeze. Just a note, I don’t dry the chives. They are better snipped off in bunches and frozen in a plastic container.

A counter full of freshly harvested herbs:

I bundle each variety and tie them up with cotton string. Then I hang them up to dry on a vintage clothes drying rack.  I tuck the whole thing away in a cool, dry corner and wait a few weeks. Once the herbs are dry, I remove them from the rack, place them in zip-lock plastic bags and store them in the pantry to use all year-long.

I am also drying my garlic now.  Once the outsides form a dry skin, they are ready for storage. These will keep all year, too.  Since this is a hard neck variety, I don’t braid them.

I’ll trim off the stems, leaving about an inch, trim off the roots and brush off most of the dirt, then store them in the pantry in a mesh bag.  That’s really all there is to it.  Herbs are easy to grow, dry and store–well worth the effort.

2 thoughts on “Herb drying

Leave a Reply

