Vintage Linens

A few weeks ago my mother brought me her collection of vintage linens–to keep! I have a real appreciation for things like this. Most of these linens belonged to my grandmother, my aunt and my mother.  Some are hand-embroidered and others lovingly collected. In a world of ‘instant everything’ I  love items that have survived for years because they’ve been well cared for.   A few remind me of my childhood because I remember seeing them on our kitchen table or I’ve seen them in family photos.

Tea towels and table runners…

hand-embroidery…

calendar towels…

and tablecloths…

Two from my childhood…I remember both of these quite well:

If I have to pick a favorite from this collection, though, it is this one. A linen towel, made in Ireland, covered in daffodils. I plan to frame this and hang it in the dining room we are currently redecorating. I think it will look perfect with the cheery yellow wall color I’ve chosen for that room.

I can’t wait to start using these around the house. Some may end up on the table, some displayed and some may transform into kitchen curtains. Whatever I decide, I’m going to enjoy them–beautiful yet useful!

~~~~~~~~~~

Oh, and not to forget my lovely assistant…this was given to me by my mother-in-law. It’s a fold up clothes drying rack she found at a thrift store.  I believe it dates from the 1950’s or ’60’s. It worked perfectly to display all these lovely linens. 🙂

Made in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Leave a Reply

