Stew

So many of my recipes are derived from leftovers.  I enjoy making roast in the Crock Pot and this is a favorite in our house.  First,  I drizzle a little bit of olive oil in the bottom of the crock, then I add the meat surrounded by cut carrots, red potatoes, onions, okra, tomatoes and any other veggie I can find in the fridge. I usually season it with a bay leaf and some dried rosemary and a couple of cloves of garlic and some  black pepper. Finally, I add about 1/2 cup of water. I let this cook on high for about 2 hours, then I turn it down to low for another 2-3 hours. It’s a great cold weather meal.  Now, for the stew.  Since we usually have a lot of roast left over, I like to use the remainder for stew.  Here’s how I do it:

Stew

Separate the liquid from the remaining roast and veggies.

Cut the meat into smaller bite size pieces and combine with the veggies in a Crock Pot set on low.

If desired, add additional veggies. I typically add a small bag of frozen mixed veggies for variety.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan, with the reserved liquid, add either 1 can of tomato sauce or the equivalent amount of tomatoes (fresh, canned, frozen or whatever you have on hand).  Bring this mixture to a low simmer. Season with black pepper and add a teaspoon or two of sugar (it cuts the acidity of the tomatoes  and really adds depth of flavor).

Remove liquid from the stove.  Using an immersion blender or a food processor, blend the liquid well.  (If you used tomato sauce, skip this part). Add the liquid mixture to the Crock Pot and cook on low for several hours.

And, that’s it.  This stew goes great with homemade corn bread!

One thought on “Stew

Leave a Reply

