A connection

It’s well into November now, the garden has been ‘put to bed’ and I’m focusing more on my crochet.  I taught myself to crochet about 9 months ago and I’ve been at it ever since. Growing up,  I had 3 aunts that crocheted. One of them tried to teach me  when I was about 9 or 10 years old, but I just didn’t have the patience. I’d never forgotten trying to learn all those years ago, so I guess it was inevitable that I’d try again someday. It’s like a connection for me, much like gardening. When I’m working with my hands, doing something I enjoy, I can’t help but think of the people in my family who inspired me to try these things. It’s almost as if they are working right along beside me.  This gives my hobbies an added meaning…I’m carrying on a tradition or just kindling that connection. So, as November wanes on into Winter, I will continue to crochet and think about those who have inspired me along the way.

Leave a Reply

